Please Type

Congratulations to our 2022 Nursing Award recipients!

Tuesday, 31 May 2022

Today SWH’s nursing team came together to celebrate a number of staff who have gone ‘above and beyond’ to show dedication to their patients and to their profession at the SWH Staff Nursing Awards.

Staff were nominated by their peers, and we can now reveal this years winners are:
Nurse of the Year: Dimple Karickel – Rehab
Midwife of the year: Clare Brooks – Perinatal Emotional Health Program Worker, Community Mental Health
Outstanding Leadership: Erin Southwell – ADON and Paediatrics
CEO’s Acknowledgement Award: Christa McLeod – Vaccination Centre
EDNM Encouragement Award: Erin Klose – Discharge Liaison.
The judging panel received 20 nominations for staff members that have continued to give their all. A common theme amongst winners was their resilience and their positive outlook on the job even during the tough times.
Executive Director of Nursing and Midwifery Gaynor Stevenson reflected on the role nurses play saying “We are there when people enter the world and we are there when they leave it and for everything in between. Nursing is a calling and a vocation not just a job that you go to everyday, and in fact I would say that to be at our best we need to give a little bit of ourselves every day we turn up.”
SWH would like to take this opportunity to thank all of our nursing staff and nominees for their hard work and for their incredible contribution to our health service.

Page last updated: 8 June 2022

We value feedback from patients, consumers, family members and carers.